12.01.2016

#NewBooksDecember | Main Branch

Are you one of those people who has, like, 40 books on their holiday wish list? Don't sweat it... we do to.  Take a look at what we're getting for the month of December, and you just might end up with 50 books on your wish list...


Fiction


Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
In a world where the suns almost never set, a woman gains entry to a school of infamous assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers that destroyed her family. Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father's failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she wanders a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and its thugs. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the hearth of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined. Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic-the Red Church. Deadly trials await her within the Church's halls: blades and poisons, treachery and death. If she survives to initiation, she'll be inducted among the chosen of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and be one step closer to the only thing she desires: Revenge.

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn't feel bad about it. When her older sister, Anna, was murdered three years ago and the killer walked free, Alex uncaged the language she knows best. The language of violence.




Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland
Henry Page fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the kind of love that he's been hoping for just hasn't been in the cards for him. He focuses on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything's about to change. Grace walks with a cane, wears oversized boys' clothes, and rarely seems to shower. It's obvious there's something broken about Grace, but he wants to help her put the pieces back together again.


Children of Eden by Joey Graceffa
Rowan is a second child in a world where population control measures make her an outlaw, marked for death. She can never go to school, make friends, or get the eye implants that will mark her as a true member of Eden. Indeed, her kaleidoscopic eyes may very well give her away to the ruthless Center government. Outside of Eden, Earth is poisoned and dead. All animals and most plants have been destroyed by a man-made catastrophe. Long ago, the brilliant scientist Aaron Al-Baz saved a pocket of civilization by designing the EcoPanopticon, a massive computer program that hijacked all global technology and put it to use preserving the last vestiges of mankind. Humans will wait for thousands of years in Eden until the EcoPan heals the world.

The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia
Seventeen-year-old Frankie Devereux would do anything to forget the past. Haunted by the memory of her boyfriend's death, she lives her life by one dangerous rule: nothing matters. Then a reckless mistake forces her to leave her privileged life in the Heights to move in with her dad, an undercover cop. She transfers to public school in the Downs, where fistfights in the halls don't faze anyone and illegal street racing is more popular than football. Marco Leone is the fastest street racer in the Downs. Tough, sexy, and hypnotic, he makes it impossible for Frankie to ignore him. But the risks Marco takes for his family could have devastating consequences for them both. When Frankie discovers his secret, she has to make a choice. Will she let the pain of the past determine her future? Or will she risk what little she has left to follow her heart?

Spare and Found Parts by Sarah Maria Griffin
Nell Crane has never held a boy's hand. In a city devastated by an epidemic, where survivors are all missing parts--an arm, a leg, an eye--Nell has always been an outsider. Her father is the famed scientist who created the bio-mechanical limbs that everyone now uses. But she's the only one with her machinery on the inside: her heart. Since the childhood operation, she has ticked. Like a clock, like a bomb. And as her community rebuilds, everyone is expected to contribute to the society's good... but how can Nell live up to her father's revolutionary ideas when she has none of her own? Then she finds a lost mannequin's hand while salvaging on the beach, and inspiration strikes. Can Nell build her own companion in a world that fears advanced technology? The deeper she sinks into this plan, the more she learns about her city--and her father, who is hiding secret experiments of his own.

The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Dash and Lily have had a tough year since readers first watched the couple fall in love. Lily's beloved grandfather suffered a heart attack, and his difficult road to recovery has taken a major toll on her typically sunny disposition. With only twelve days left until Christmas--Lily's favorite time of the year--Dash, Lily's brother Langston, and their closest friends take Manhattan by storm to help Lily recapture the holiday magic of New York City in December. (Sequel to Dash & Lily's Book of Dares.)

We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun
Growing up across the street from each other, Scott and Cath have been best friends their entire lives. Cath would help Scott with his English homework, he would make her mix tapes (it's the 80's after all), and any fight they had would be forgotten over TV and cookies. But now they've graduated high school and Cath is off to college while Scott is at home pursuing his musical dreams. During their first year apart, Scott and Cath's letters help them understand heartache, annoying roommates, family drama and the pressure to figure out what to do with the rest of their lives. And through it all, they realize that the only person they want to turn to is each other. But does that mean they should be more than friends? The only thing that's clear is that change is an inescapable part of growing up. And the friends who help us navigate it share an unshakable bond. This funny yet deeply moving book--set to an awesome 80's soundtrack--captures all the beautiful confusion and emotional intensity we find on the verge of adulthood ... and first love.

Scythe by Neal Shusterman
In a world where disease has been eliminated, the only way to die is to be randomly killed ('gleaned') by professional reapers ('scythes'). Two teens must compete with each other to become a scythe--a position neither of them wants. The one who becomes a scythe must kill the one who doesn't.






Stay With Me by Mila Gray
Didi Monroe believes Zac Ridgemont is the love of her life, but when Didi grows very close to wounded marine Noel Walker during her internship at a military hospital in California and then tragedy strikes, Didi must decide if her and Walker's love is worth fighting for. (Sequel to Come Back to Me)






Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodes
When Mytica is threatened by an epic clash between gods and mortals, Magnus and Cleo are forced to test the strength of their love in the face of a redemption-seeking King Gaius. (Book 5 of the Falling Kingdoms series.)







This Is Our Story by Ashley Elston
When a hunting accident claims a boy's life, his best friends all come under suspicion.







Take the Key and Lock Her Up by Ally Carter
Book 3 in the Embassy Row series. (Release Date: 12/27/16)





Thirteen Reasons Why (10th Anniversary Edition) by Jay Asher
(Release Date: 12/27/16)









Graphic Novels



Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 10 by Sui Ishida
Ghouls live among us, the same as normal people in every way—except their craving for human flesh. Ken Kaneki is an ordinary college student until a violent encounter turns him into the first half-human half-ghoul hybrid. Trapped between two worlds, he must survive Ghoul turf wars, learn more about Ghoul society and master his new powers.

While Kaneki and his friends tangle with Ghouls from the Aogiri Tree organization, the Commission of Counter Ghoul’s ongoing investigations bring them dangerously close to discovering Kaneki’s secret. (Taken from Goodreads.)



Non-Fiction


The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks by Sam Maggs
Fanfic, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs and RPGs and MMOs and more - it's never been a better time to be a girl geek. The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy is the ultimate handbook for ladies living the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom. With delightful illustrations and an unabashed love for all the in(ternet)s and outs of geek culture, this book is packed with tips, playthroughs, and cheat codes, including how to make nerdy friends, rock awesome cosplay, write fanfic with feels, defeat Internet trolls, and attend your first con.

The Fangirl Life: A Guide to All the Feels and Learning How to Deal by Kathleen Smith
Fangirling is more than a hobby; it's a way of life for an enormous community. As a fangirl, you are a passionate, intelligent, and creative creature. But sometimes focusing on the fictional can keep you from putting those qualities to use in your everyday life. Rather than using your pop culture obsessions to avoid your real-life problems, you can tackle issues like stress, anxiety, and low self-esteem by turning obsession into inspiration. If you enjoy flailing over badass fictional ladies or speculating endlessly over plot points, but would like to carve more space for the narrative of your own life, this is the book for you.


Die Young With Me: A Memoir by Rob Rufus
In the tradition of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes the incredibly moving true story of a teenager diagnosed with cancer and how music was the one thing that helped him get through his darkest days.






Courage to Soar: A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance by Simone Biles
Through years of hard work and determination, Biles has relied on her faith and family to stay focused and positive, while having fun competing at the highest level and doing what she loves. In her own words she takes you through the events, challenges, and trials that carried her from an early childhood in foster care to a coveted spot on the 2016 Olympic team.




Click here to see the newest titles at the Palmer Branch! 

No comments:

Post a Comment